Quantcast

Photo

Tell me about L.A.

• Please log in to reply
21 replies to this topic

Poll: Tell me about L.A.

Should I get an internship in L.A. or stay in Toronto?

You cannot see the results of the poll until you have voted. Please login and cast your vote to see the results of this poll.
Vote Guests cannot vote

#1 Broham

Broham
  • 28 posts

Posted 30 August 2011 - 05:45 PM

I'm currently studying Chemical Engineering up here in Canada and I was planning on doing a summer internship next year in L.A.
I have the connections necessary to get me a decently paying job, but the question now is should I go or not.
I've been getting mixed answers from everyone I've asked. I'm hoping some people from codex have been there and can tell me what it's like and if it's worth it.

#2 Kalla

Kalla
  • 33 posts

Posted 30 August 2011 - 06:34 PM

I used to live in LA for a little bit and I was never really a fan. I mean I think you should tell us a little bit about yourself, because LA can be heaven or hell depending on the person. I live in San Francisco right now and I love it, but LA was a bit too superficial for me. Someone once told me:

"Those with ambition and talent go to New York, those with talent but no ambition go to San Francisco, and those with ambition but no talent go to Los Angeles"
Wise words.

#3 Broham

Broham
  • 28 posts

Posted 30 August 2011 - 07:24 PM

I'm a Canadian citizen but I haven't always been; I was born in Albania during the fall of communism and as such was in constant danger because of the civil war.
I came to Canada when I was 5 years old yet I still speak and am literate in my mother tongue.
I have traditional values, but am not religious; neither is my family (for a few generations anyway.)

The reason I wanted to go to Los Angeles for a summer is because I feel that Toronto, while being the biggest City in Canada, is too monotonous and small.