• Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 grapes

grapes
  • Waser Lave Fan

• 403 posts

Users Awards

Posted 07 April 2012 - 05:27 AM

I'd like to ask your opinions on the Lego Mindstroms NXT 2.0. (or 1.0, if you own 1.0 :p) Is it helpful for learning robotics & programming basics in a fun way? :D

I'd like to buy it so that's why I'm asking. :)

ty. :)

Edited by grapes, 07 April 2012 - 05:28 AM.

#2 Irradium

Irradium
  • Pyro (699) Maniac

• 892 posts

Users Awards

Posted 07 April 2012 - 05:37 AM

Note: I'd just like to say now, that I have no physical experience with this - before someone icks me up on what I say.

Looks like 10 in 1 Lego kit. You have to remember that it's target audience is children from 3 - 15, and will probably constitute of a kit, which holds some exclusive parts not in any other kit. I'd doubt very much if you could learn programming or even more than the basic concepts of robotics from it. However, it looks like fun, and well worth it if you were looking for an enhanced, futuristic toy.

P.S. Just for reference: http://mindstorms.le...us/default.aspx

#3 Waser Lave

Waser Lave

• 25516 posts

Users Awards

Posted 07 April 2012 - 05:55 AM

I would have thought it would be better and perhaps cheaper (in the long run) to learn how to use generic components along with a micro-controller like an Arduino if you're looking to get into robotics and physical computing as a serious hobby rather than just as a toy.

#4 grapes

grapes
  • Waser Lave Fan

• 403 posts

Users Awards

Posted 07 April 2012 - 07:23 AM