Technology related..

• Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 Adina

Adina
  • 576 posts

Users Awards

Posted 02 September 2010 - 10:13 AM

So before I left for my last week of camp I bought a new camera, a sony cybershot. One of the more recent ones. I was hanging out with my friends outside, and I saw a smudge on the screen. It wouldn't go away, so I pressed a bit harder. The smudge went away but.. Now I'm left with a dark spot in the center of the camera. It's not completely black, and i can see what I would see if it wasn't there, it's just I see it a bit darker. Not too noticeable, but I notice it. It's really bothering me. Any way I can fix it? I paid like 50 dollars for warranty for 3 years, would that cover this type of damage?
Just wondering.
I'm not experienced with this stuff at all.

#2 EzioAuditore

EzioAuditore
  • 246 posts

Posted 02 September 2010 - 10:16 AM

It depends on what the warranty covers obviously. Not all warranties on electronics are the same.

I would call sony and ask them if it is covered (just don't tell them that the smudge is there because of you).

#3 Warriors

Warriors
  • 985 posts

Users Awards

Posted 02 September 2010 - 10:24 AM

warranties for the most part is a huge scam...Usually warranties are for physical damage or software damage..A Smudge, not so much...

#4 Adina

Adina
  • 576 posts

Users Awards

Posted 02 September 2010 - 10:29 AM

It's not a smudge, it's damaged underneath the screen. It's not something I can just wipe off.

#5 Faval

Faval
  • 637 posts

Posted 02 September 2010 - 11:07 AM

For things like screens being damaged, they have their own policies in place. Such as if you buy a tv/monitor with dead pixels, it must have at least 3 dead pixels before they'll allow you to return it and get a new one.